The McRae Lumber Company was founded in 1922 when JSL McRae purchased the Airy Mill from the Mickle and Dyment Lumber Company. Although this marked the official start of the company, the family lumbering tradition extends back two generations further.
JSL’s father John Duncan owned a sawmill at the fourth chute of the Bonnechere River in Eganville from 1904 to 1911. The lumbering experience was also present through John Duncan’s wife, Isabella Campbell McRae. Isabella’s father John Campbell was Manager of John Egan’s Bonnechere operations and also had a timber berth near Golden Lake.